• Contact
    • Saarland University
      Department of Computer Science
      66123 Saarbrücken
      phone: +49 (0) 681/302-58090
      fax:      +49 (0) 681/302-58094

Figures and Statistics: The scientists

More than 30 professors of Computer Science do research at Saarland University, at the Max Planck Institutes for Informatics and for Software Systems and at the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI). They are supported by some 200 post-docs at the university and the associated institutes. In addition, over 300 PhD students are pursuing their work in Computer Science at Saarbrücken.

Over the past seven years, more than 70 members coming out of research groups in Saarbrücken have received tenured faculty appointments, including 36 faculty positions at German universities. Saarbrücken Computer Science has therefore been making considerable contributions to the development of the German and international informatics landscape.

Statistics about Students in Computer Science (BSc / MSc)

1. Studienfach (2013/2014) Studierende (ges.) Studierende (weibl.) Erst- und Neuzulassung Ausländische Studierende
Informatics BSc 497 72 210 52
Informatics MSc 318 69 110 191
Bioinformatics BSc 102 45 43 12
Bioinformatics MSc 78 25 22 42
Computer and Communikation BSc 10 1 - 2
Cuk Emb. Sys. BSc 21 4 21 3
Cuk Elekt. Inf.tech BSc 12 3 5 3
Computer and Communikation MSc 67 10 26 60
Visual Computing MSc 38 11 15 22
Media Informatics BSc 94 19 41 8
Medieninformatik MSc 11 6 9 2
Here you find further information about student statistics at Saarland University:        

Research Centers and large Research Projects

The " Transregional Collaborative Research Center AVACS" (Automatic Verification und Analysis of Complex Systems) was founded with a grant of the German Research Foundation (DFG) in 2003 and received funding for further four years in 2011. In this large cooperative research project includes the Universities of Freiburg, Oldenburg and Saarbrücken, as well as the Max Planck Institute for Informatics in Saarbrücken.

Here you will find a summary of our research activities.

History of Saarbrücken Computer Science

1969 Implementation of Computer Science as subject and research field
1987 Leibniz Prize to Prof. Guenter Hotz, Kurt Mehlhorn, and Wolfgang Paul, Saarland University
1988 Foundation of the Max-Planck-Institute for Computer Science
1988 Foundation of  the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence(DFKI)
1990 Beginning of Research at the Max Planck Institute for Computer Science
1990 Foundation of Schloss Dagstuhl- Leibniz Center for Informatics in Northern Saarland
1990 Scientific Director of Schloss Dagstuhl is Prof. Reinhard Wilhelm, Saarland University
2000 Foundation of  the Center for Bioinformatics
2000 Foundation of the International Max Planck Research School for Computer Science
2000 Leibniz Prize to Prof. Manfred Pinkal, Saarland University
2001 German Future Prize from the President of the Federal Republic of Germany to Prof. Wolfgang Wahlster (DFKI)
2003 Leibniz Prize to Prof. Hans-Peter Seidel, Max Planck Institute for Computer Science
2004 Foundation of Max Planck Institute for Software Systems in Saarbrücken and Kaiserslautern
2004 Foundation of the Competence Center of Informatics
2007 Cluster of Excellence on Multimodal Computing and Interaction and International Graduate School in Computer Science are established at Saarland University by the German Research Foundation (DFG)
2009 Foundation of the Intel Visual Computing Institute at Saarland University
2009 Participation of the European Network EIT ICT Labs
2010 Participation in the Spitzencluster "Software Innovation for Digital Enterprises"
2010 Leibniz Prize to Prof. Joachim Weickert
2010 Software Campus
2011 Foundation of the Center for IT Security, Privacy, and Accountability CISPA
2012 Funding of the Cluster of Excellence and the Saarbruecken Graduate School of Computer Science for another 5 years
2015 CISPA funding extended until 2019